Saline County Kansas

Official County Government Website

Photo Courtesy Of Marciana Vequist
You are here: Departments > District Court > Clerk of the District Court

Clerk of the District Court

Teresa Drane

300 West Ash Rm 307

Saline Ks, 67401

785-309-5831

 

Office Hours

8:30am - 4:00pm

Traffic and Jury Information

TRAFFIC INFORMATION:
Docket is held on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month starting at 9:00 a.m.  Tickets filed in the District Court have been written by a Sheriff’s officer or the Kansas Highway Patrol. On the back of your ticket is indicated whether you have a ticket that should go to Municipal Court or District Court and the address is provided.

Tickets may be mailed into the Clerk of the District Court with payment on or before court date listed on the ticket.

You must make an appearance in court if you were given a ticket for any of the following charges:

  • No proof of Insurance
  • Involved in an accident or leaving the scene of an accident
  • No valid Drivers License
  • Driving while revoked or suspended
  • Driving under the Influence (DUI) or transporting open container
  • Minor in Possession or Minor in Consumption

These are a few of the common must appear charges. Other charges such as speeding are typically handled by making a plea on the back of the ticket and mailing it and the payment to the Clerk of the District Court.

The docket fee (court costs) are due upon payment of the ticket along with the fine. Docket fee is $108.00.  
Should you wish to make your payment online, go to www.citepayusa.com and follow the instructions. Payment by this method is for traffic tickets only.

Total fines and docket fee are due by the date listed on the ticket. Payment not made in full 30 days after the court date will result in your drivers license being suspended.

JURY INFORMATION:
Jurors are selected in Saline County District Court for service from a random diskette provided by the KS Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles. If you have obtained a drivers license or ID card in Saline County. The diskette is then placed in the District Court Clerk’s jury computer system which also has a program designed for random jury selection.

You may be excused from jury duty for the following reasons only:

  • You are not 18 years of age or older
  • You are unable to understand the English language
  • You are not a resident of Saline County for at least 20 days
  • Within the 10 years immediately preceding you have been convicted of or pleaded guilty, or nolo contendere, to an indictment or information charging a felony
  • You have served as a juror in Saline County within one year immediately preceding
  • If you have a physical injury/disability, which would prevent you from serving as a juror, a medical excuse from your physician indicating the nature of the injury/disability (example: short term injury or a permanent disability) is required.

 

Important

After 6:00 p.m. on the evening immediately preceding your scheduled jury service, you must call the Jury Clerk’s office to check a recording that will indicate whether you will need to report for jury service.  This recording will either indicate that the trial will proceed and you will need to report, or the trial was cancelled and you do not need to report.

If you have a physical injury or disability which would prevent you from serving as a juror, the Court requires written documentation from your physician to excuse your attendance.

Copyright Saline County Kansas© 2017. All Rights Reserved.